All Things Sustainable

ecology, economy, community

The Fringe-lily

6 Comments

It is quite a while since I last saw one of these little native lilies, Beth Gott and John Conran record three different Fringe-lilies in their book ” Victorian Koori Plants” and I think that the one that I came across while I was walking in the forest is similar to the Common Fringe-lily Thysanotus tuberosus. It is the first one I have seen growing wild here in the forests of the NSW far south coast but that maybe that is because I am not observant enough. I was lucky to be carrying my phone so I was able to take a photo to record my experience. I am not sure what the white patch behind the flower in the photo was, I ought to have noticed if it was rubbish but maybe I was so focused on the flower that I saw nothing else.

6 thoughts on “The Fringe-lily

  1. Pingback: HoT NeWs » lily was here

  2. I didnt expect this, but I love this, found it enlightening! Keep up the awesome work!

  3. This is definitely the thing I’ve been rummaging for! Excellent and thank you!

  4. Hey there my name is Jill and I’m a researcher and this article really helped me. I’m inspired! Thanks!