All Things Sustainable

ecology, economy, community

Week 1 of the Mini-Moocs

2 Comments

Nottingham Uni is part of the new MOOCS movement and I am trying out a couple of their free online courses not because I am totally incapable of sitting around with spare time on my hands but mainly because I want to know what the rest of the world is thinking about sustainability and climate change issues. I will be using this blog to see where they are going and explore how it changes my thinking. That is assuming I am not totally one eyed and immoveable.
Meanwhile back at the ranch so to speak I have a new delicacy for your consideration : pigface fruit.

Pig Face Fruit. Pigface is a ground covering succulent that grows near the coast, it has showy pink to purple flowers.

Pig Face Fruit. Pigface is a ground covering succulent that grows near the coast, it has showy pink to purple flowers.


This bush tucker grows wild in the area and a neighbour brought me some to try as I had never eaten it. He showed me how to split the outer layer of the fruit and reveal the succulent inner part. It tasted a bit like salty kiwi fruit. This is a sustainable resource I suppose but if everyone wanted to eat it I wonder how long it would last.
Once there were yam daisies that grew throughout Victoria I am told. It was a staple food for the local population before Captain Cook arrived but now the plant is rarely encountered because the introduction of sheep destroyed it. The sheep did well and Australia rode on the sheep’s back for many years but it certainly wasn’t a sustainable solution for the native people.
Conclusion: Sustainability is inclusive : you must include everyone and everything that is affected by your decisions. Not easy.

2 thoughts on “Week 1 of the Mini-Moocs

  1. Salty kiwi fruit does not sound very appetising! When you were in the UK did you ever try eating Medlars? They have a very unusual flavour (We have a tree here on the campus at the University of Nottingham so if you ever visit you can pick them and try them out)

  2. No I never came across Medlars, the salty kiwi fruit flavour is unusual but it would be very refreshing I think on hot day if you were thirsty. Maybe it is an acquired taste.